NPP Bono Regional Comm. Director calls for calm in Dormaa Central Constituency


The Bono Regional Communication Director of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Seth Asare Bediako(ABS) has called on party supporters in the Dormaa Central Constituency to exercise restraint and cooperate with party executives.

A group of irate youth of the Party on Thursday set some property of the party office ablaze.

This was after the irate youth ransacked the party’s office.

Items set on fire included the office’s furniture, television set and other property.

According to BA TV source, the action of the youth was necessitated by the disqualification of the MCE from the party’s internal primary.

Rumours have it that, he had been disqualified from the race by the party’s highest decision-making body, the National Executive Committee to allow the current Member of Parliament for Dorma Central Hon. Kwaku Agyeman-Manu who is also health Minister to go unopposed.

But Mr. Bediako speaking on BA TV News on Friday said “the supporters have the right to express their disagreement at the decision of the party’s leadership on this matter but for them to ransacked the party’s office was wrong and unlawful which is against the party laws” he stated.

“Those supporters should remain calm and wait for final information from the National Executive Committee (NEC) as they know what is good for the party”, he added.

Below is Provisional full list of Bono Parliamentary Aspirants and their ballot positions


1. Hon. Ali Halidu Maiga  


1. Hon. Kwaku Agyemang Manu 2. Elder Dr. Yaw Yeboah  


1. Hon. William Kwasi Sabi 2. Dr. Kwabena Sarfo 3. Paul Twum Barima  


1. Dr. Kwabena Twum Nuama 2. Paul Ofori-Amanfo 3. Solomon Kyere Boadu 4. Nelson Kyeremeh  


1. Hon. Kwaku Agyenim Boateng  


1. Hon.  Yaw Afful 2. Alex Awuah 3. Yeboah Marfo  


1. Hon. Siaka Stevens  


1. Hon. Gabriel Osei 2. Ababio Alexander 3. Alex Ofori  


1. Prof. Gyan Baffour 2. Dr. Tina Abrefa Gyan 3. Kojo Frempong 4. Yaw Opoku Athene 5. Albert Ameyaw  


1. Hon. Ignatius Baffour Awuah  


1. Akwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh 2. Alfred Tuah

Meanwhile, the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has given the green light to some disqualified aspirants to contest its parliamentary primaries slated for June 20, 2020.

Most of the candidates in Greater Accra, Western North and Ashanti regions seeking to contest their incumbent Members of Parliament were disqualified by the regional vetting committees.

But NEC, after listening to their appeals, declared them eligible to contest in the elections.

However, some of the decisions taken by the vetting committees were also upheld.

Below is the full list:

Greater Accra Region

NEC upheld the recommendations of the Vetting Committee in respect of all the aspiring candidates. The decision by the appeals committee to clear the opponent of Moses Anim in Trobu, Edward Addo, who was initially disqualified by the vetting committee was thus reversed

Western North

NEC reversed the decision of the Appeals Committee to disqualify former BOST CEO, Alfred Obeng in the Bibiani Constituency. He has therefore been reinstated as per the verdict of the vetting committee that initially cleared him

Western Region

NEC upheld all the decisions of the Vetting Committee

Northern Region

NEC approved the decision of the vetting committee to disqualify Emmanuel Kutin, the Security Analyst in the Saboba Constituency, but reversed the decision to disqualify Osman Mahama in the Saboba Constituency. So the Deputy Tourism Minister, Iddi Ziblim, will not go unopposed.

Ahafo Region

NEC upheld the decisions of the vetting committee for all the candidates

Central Region

All the decisions of the Vetting Committee upheld, except that in respect of Evans Coleman of Agona West. So the gender minister will be contested by one other person, and not two.

Bono Region

All decisions of the vetting committee upheld. The opponent of the health Minister disqualified in the Dormaa Central


All the decisions of the vetting committee upheld by NEC


Samuel Binfo was cleared by NEC to contest in the Adansi Asokwa Constituency again KT Hammond

Kofi Nkansah Ofosu was cleared by NEC to contest in the Asante Akyem Central

Francis Kwabena Owusu Akya was disqualified in the Juabeng Contest. That is, decision of Appeals Committee upheld

Bekwai – Lawyer Amofa Agyemang was disqualified by NEC.

Asante Akyem North – Kwadwo Baah Agyemang cleared by NEC

Odotobiri – Lawyer Anthony Mmieh cleared by NEC, thus reversing appeals committee decision

Subin – JB Danquah cleared by NEC

Manso Nkwanta- Hon Grace Addo, the former MP disqualified by NEC

Kwadaso – Hilda Addo disqualified by NEC

Source: BA TV


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here