Pulse News
Breaking News & Top Stories

Official: Chelsea won the Club of the Year award

0 47

At the Ballon d’Or awards event, Chelsea was voted Club of the Year for 2021. Chelsea had a memorable year in 2021, with both the Men’s and Women’s teams achieving success on and off the field. The Blyes get the inaugural Ballon d’Or award for their success in the Academy, Women’s, and Men’s teams.

The award, which recognizes both the men’s and women’s teams’ achievements, comes at the end of a tremendous season for the club.

The Blues reached the FA Cup final under Thomas Tuchel, who took over as manager at Stamford Bridge from Frank Lampard in January, and won the Champions League by defeating Manchester City in the final in Porto.

The European champions have made a strong start to the season, winning the European Super Cup against Villarreal in August and presently holding a one-point lead over City in the Premier League.

Chelsea Women, on the other hand, won their third Women Super League title in four seasons and successfully defended the League Cup they had won in 2020.

Emma Hayes’ team narrowly missed out on a historic treble by losing to Barcelona in the Champions League final.

Tuchel remarked in a video message from London, “It’s a great trophy since it’s for the club.”

‘Our women’s squad and academy are quite successful. We’re ecstatic to get this honor. There were a lot of guys who were nominated.’

‘We’d like to be there with you,’ Chelsea captain Cesar Azpilicueta added. We were unable to attend due to scheduling conflicts. This honor, this occasion, makes me very happy.’

img 8553 1
Official: Chelsea won the Club of the Year award

Hayes, who was present at the event, expressed her hope that the players will be able to attend next year’s spectacle, which is now taking place due to the international break for women’s football.

The European champions had an outstanding night on an individual level.

Jorginho came in third place in the men’s rankings, behind Lionel Messi, who won the award for the record seventh time, and Robert Lewandowski, with Ngolo Kante in fifth place.

Meanwhile, Edouard Mendy finished second in the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper to Italy’s Gianluigi Donnarumma, and Sam Kerr placed third in the women’s Ballon d’Or rankings.

Connect With Pulse Community!
Connect With Pulse Community!
Our newsletter gives you access to a curated selection of the most important stories daily.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More