Pulse News
Breaking News & Top Stories

Tuchel claims Jorginho was blinded by floodlights

0 20

THOMAS TUCHEL has claimed Chelsea captain Jorginho was blinded by the lights as his shocking error gifted Manchester United a goal.

The midfield maestro bungled his first touch under a high ball as United cleared their lines in Sunday’s blockbuster Premier League encounter.

Red Devils winger Jadon Sancho pounced on the mistake to burst through and slot the ball past a sprawling Edouard Mendy.

That put the visitors 1-0 up at Stamford Bridge – but Blues boss Tuchel had a novel excuse for his skipper’s error.

He said: “He misjudged the situation and I think he was heavily disturbed from the lights. It happens.

“It takes a lot of courage and personality to not be affected during the match and to have the courage to take the penalty. I am very happy that he did it.”

ngcb1

Jorginho made up for his error 20 minutes later when he equalised with a hop-skip-and-jump from the penalty spot.

United defender Aaron Wan-Bissake gave away the spotkick when he booted Thiago Silva in the box.

And Jorginho made amends as he converted after his trademark stuttering run-up left David De Gea wrong-footed in the United net.

Tuchel himself has also seen his name hit the headlines following the frantic 1-1 draw.

The German was shown a yellow cardafter ranting at ref Anthony Taylor for failing to spot an offside and instead awarding the visitors a corner.

Chelsea are one point clear of Liverpool at the top of the table as the Premier League heads into its packed December schedule.

Connect With Pulse Community!
Connect With Pulse Community!
Our newsletter gives you access to a curated selection of the most important stories daily.
Comments
Loading...

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More